out with the stud, in with the spud

I like beautiful food on small plates when I’m alone. Andrew, on occassion, is off with The WoodsBoys, and I cherish the solitude to make elegant meals. Get out the good cheese, the 14-ingredient salads, the three-hour dinners—it’s all for me. Yes, I’m the girl who wears pearls on most days and dresses up for the post office.

I was planning a more extravagant dish, but, with the school year near its end, my Friday afternoon energy was only enough for a simple potato. Not to say it was anything short of amaaaazing. Lucky for us (yes, I had you in mind), this is an effortless entrée worth repeating—for company, next time. With caramelized onions.

Lindsey’s Friday Night Potato

serves one, a Linvention easily adapted for a crowd

1 sweet potato, rinsed and scrubbed

1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese

1 small bunch chopped chives (or scallions)

2 tbsp. vegetable oil

fresh pepper

On a hot day, I was thrilled to find one can easily cook a potato whole on the grill[pan]. Who wants to heat up the dang apartment and turn on the oven for a whole hour for one measly potato?? If you don’t have a grill, bake it in your oven sans judgement 😉

Rub the entire potato with oil and place directly on a medium-hot grill. Turn occasionally and prick with a fork after about 40 minutes, cooking until the potato is completely tender. As the jury is still out on eating potato skin, I wasn’t so worried about charring the exterior. I did wrap the potato in foil for a little bit to see if this decreased cooking time, but it didn’t seem to make much difference. The charred potato was shockingly moist, to my delight.

Once tender, slice the potato into a “t” and push the edges towards the middle to push the flesh out (Mom’s trick). Sprinkle with cheese and chives, and pepper if desired. The salty cheese melts and flavors the potato beautifully.

Serve with tender greens (mache or baby spinach) dressed in lemon and olive oil. Then, if you’re me, turn on Bringing Up Baby or another silly flick, get on your jammies and put your feet up.

2 Comments

Filed under budget, dinners, small bites, the basics

2 responses to “out with the stud, in with the spud

  1. Lynette

    Hey Linds – I think the cutting the “T” and pushing the sides is a product of your Mom’s and my age – probably a trick our mothers showed us!! One not to be forgotten for sure as it works every time!! Keep on cookin’.

Leave a Reply

