mixing it up

I love munching, especially on sweet and salty things. I am American after all. My sister-in-law and I, as she substitute taught for me recently, exchanged the following text messages:

Maggie: Found dried fruit in your desk drawer. Can I have some?

Me: Please! Help yourself!

Maggie: I see there is only fruit left in the peanut butter cup trail mix… nice Lindsey.

But let’s cut to the chase: since I saw my friend Claire make this superb snack, I’ve been desperate to eat whip it up myself. A sedentary grad student (points to self) hardly burns sufficient calories reading, typing, blogging, thinking. Did this hinder my eating a quarter of the batch?? No.

When the hubs, along with The Woodsboys, embarked on a 35-mile hike, I had fun making little portions for each of the guys. That is, what was left at this point. With enthusiastic man-approval, the WoodsBoys’ declared this recipe their top-pick.

Oh, did I forget to mention it’s no-skill, 20-minutes, 5-ingredient trail mix??

And it’s pretty.

Pumpkin Seed Dried Cherry Trail Mix

from Claire Robinson, makes about 6 cups

2 cups pumpkin seeds (also called pepitas)

1 cup slivered almonds

3/4 cup raw sunflower seeds

6 tbsp. pure Grade B maple syrup

1 cup dried cranberries or cherries

(plus coarse salt)

Note: Purchasing the nuts and seeds in bulk (at Whole Foods or another grocer) makes this snack very affordable.

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.

In a large bowl, toss the pumpkin seeds, almonds, and sunflower seeds and the syrup until evenly coated. Spread the nuts and seeds out, in an even single layer, on the lined baking sheets and season with salt to taste.  Bake the nuts, stirring several times with spatula or wooden spoon, until just golden, about 20 minutes.

Cool the nuts completely on the pan, then add the cherries and toss to combine. Store cooled trail mix in an airtight container at room temperature. Or put in cute baggies to send off with those nuts who like sleeping in the rain with the bugs…

Leave a comment

Filed under dinners, health, lickety-quick, small bites

Leave a Reply

