a cure for mustard misery

Since I bookmarked this salad months ago, knowing its re-creation was inevitable, I’ve been cringing over the tablespoon of Dijon. There are so few ingredients, I knew there would be no getting around it.

Tonight, I returned to my new favorite cookbook for the third time in a week: Great Food Fast from Everyday Food.  I included the dreaded Dijon, one small step to conquering my mustard hatred, and made a few additions to fill this out to a light dinner.

This dish is even better the next day, and more so the day after.

Lindsey’s Chilled Chickpea Couscous

1 cup (dry) israeli couscous

4 oz. fresh mozzarella, cubed and chilled

1 lb. broccoli, cut into florets

1 tbsp. Dijon mustard

2 tbsp. red-wine vinegar

2 tbsp. olive oil

1/2 small red onion, minced

coarse salt and fresh ground pepper

1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved

1 can (15 oz.) chickpeas, drained and rinsed

Cook 1 cup of israeli couscous according to the package directions. While it is cooking, steam the broccoli florets over an inch of salted water (use a steamer basket or large colander set over a pot) until crisp-tender, about five minutes. The couscous and broccoli should take about the same cooking time. Leave both to cool.

In a large bowl, whisk together the mustard, vinegar, olive oil, and onion; season with salt and pepper. Taste and adjust as necessary (better to slightly undermeasure the vinegar and mustard and add to taste).

Add the tomatoes, chickpeas, broccoli, and couscous; toss to coat. Be sure the couscous has cooled enough to add the mozzarella. Serve chilled or at room temperature.

To eat this salad by itself is a super light dinner, but we often enjoy our beloved banana cocoa smoothies later in the evening (we’re early eaters) to round things out. I’m excited to enjoy it for lunch, it makes great leftovers.

Even though this is a delicious dish, where garbanzos are concerned: my mother-in-law’s chickpea-tomato salad can’t be beat. You’ll have to come back for that one!

2 Comments

Filed under budget, dinners, health, lickety-quick

2 responses to “a cure for mustard misery

  1. Alice

    I saw a reference to me! Yes, the chick pea salad is delicious, but it is not one I can take credit for. I think I found it in the Post’s Food section about 20 years ago. The only change I made to it was adding cucumbers.

  2. There are cucumber?!

    Wow, it’ll be even better next time!

Leave a Reply

