dessert, sweetheart?

Did you get lost in the kitchen, Lindsey? Where have you been?? 

yes, friends, that's a pear candle

Ladies and gents, I’ve completed my first semester of Nutrition grad school–which has consumed my life (culinarily and socially speaking) since January. Oh, but I’ve also been busy falling down stairs… so this aircast on my right foot makes grocery trips (and kitchen expeditions) a wee challenging. 

But I’m back! Hobbling in the kitchen, and a little more relaxed. Okay, I’ve got just one more paper, then I’ll be relaxed. Just a little 15-pager analyzing and improving my diet. Any suggestions?? 

Andrew’s been wonderful, supplying me with goodies from Trader Joes and cooking me yummy dinners. Still, I’ve been desperate to get away from my textbooks and back into the kitchen. So 10:30pm, what’s a Lindsey to do? Hunt around for dessert, naturally. 

Andrew rightfully refused to run to the grocery store to satisfy our mutual late-night dessert craving, so student-Lindsey had to put on her thinking cap. In my Old Faithful 4-ingredient cookbook, I came across these lovely almond cookies. 

I’m sure you recall that I do not bake. Really, twice a year max. That’s why I use my oven for storage: 

our oven's inhabitants

The real dilemma with my baking phobia is that I do love cookies. And brownies. And cake. It is beneficial I’m not confident in my baking skills or I might be four sizes larger. 

So these light, CRUNCHY, nutty cookies were simply this: flour, almonds, confectioner’s sugar, butter. 

I bet you have these in your cabinet already

After the four ingredients have met, got acquainted, etc., one is instructed to mix by hand. This sounds fun, but the “dough” was unbelievably crumbly and dry. It wouldn’t stick to anything. Any bakers out there with advice, I’d love to hear it. (Let’s, please, ignore the fact that I was a professional baker for a brief period of my recent life…) I just added more and more and more butter. That worked, too.

mix by hand? sure

 

 

 

 

 

 

So here it is, folks: 

1 cup plain flour
1.5 cups confectioner’s sugar
.5 cup chopped almonds
.5 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
Just roll, cut, and bake at 350 until pale golden (I almost burned them at 15 minutes–set the timer for 12)!
Though I floured the rolling pin, tried spraying it with Pam, nothing helped. If you try these super-easy cookies, I suggest some plastic wrap over the dough. This really helped my very crackly dough meld into one sheet. Imagine my surprise when these absolutely flawless cookies came out of the oven!
 
(These turned out to be an excuse to use that Valentine’s cookie cutter from Mom! May’s not too late, right?)
 
The recipe suggested dusting with confectioner’s sugar, but I was in a chocolate mood. Again, here I reveal my amateur baking knowledge. I blame the midnight hour (literally) on my inability to temper chocolate. It didn’t work, but oh man does it taste great.
 
Tips on tempering chocolate without wax?? I used a bit of vegetable oil, but it didn’t help.
 
These are supposed to be fantastic with tea or coffee, etc., but I prefer them right off the cookie sheet.
The remarkable thing about these cookies is how the nuts toasted right inside the dough. Truly a flavor and texture unlike any cookie I’ve enjoyed. Now I find “nutty” to be an overused adjective among foodies (Darling, don’t you adore the nuttiness of this wine/cheese/tart/casserole?).
 
Still, these confections are nutty in the most awesome way. 

ah, love

Shall we stare at the drizzle remains together, and look for a hidden message??

edible Pollack?

1 Comment

Filed under small bites

One response to “dessert, sweetheart?

  1. Ashley Fellers

    Lindsey, these are lovely!! 🙂

    Don’t worry — I’ve always felt that the ends justify the means in baking. If it was messy, sloppy, difficult or even gross throughout the baking process, it really doesn’t matter if the finished product is fabulous!

    One of our “specialty” items at the bakery is an Irish Scone that’s so soft it’s almost cakelike in consistency, but with a finer, denser crumb. People RAVE about it. They’d be surprised to know how un-polished it looks, coming together in the kitchen. The dough is really more like batter — thin and gloppy, and it sticks to everything. We waste a decent amount on our gloves just trying to knead it. But it makes sense, when you think about it — a cakelike scone should have a cakelike “batter” rather than a firm dough. In the end, the only thing that really counts is how awesome it tastes. 🙂

    So spread out some more waxed paper, get yourself a silicone rolling pin perhaps, and enjoy making some more of these BEAUTIFUL cookies!! (the last pic is particularly fun, by the way).

Leave a Reply

