phoney cannelloni

Spinach is so delightful. But not everyone thinks so, including my husband. If it’s a vegetable other than green beans, he gives me a look like Oh boy, I know it’s not appropriate to make a face. And I almost never make green beans.

 

After Nutrition class today, I experienced a major guilt trip about increasing my daily vegetables and fiber. But how oh how to sneak veggies to my Andrew? Ooooh, cheese and pasta! I promise my culinary abilities vary far beyond pasta and potatoes, but this weather is truly taking its toll on my appetite. 

I poured boiling water (via cute kettle) into my casserole dish and soaked the lasagna sheets until pliant.

So I decided on this spinach and ricotta cannelloni, but I cheated. A tight budget and time constraint cornered me into no-boil pasta (hadn’t tried this before—so wish I had had time to make homemade noodles), jarred tomato sauce, and bagged baby spinach. After two grocery stores, I had to give up my dream of fresh spinach. 

For the filling, I sauteed one chopped onion and three garlic cloves in a nice hunk of butter.

What seemed like a lot of spinach wilted down quickly. Kind of wished I had used more, but I might not have gotten Andrew so enthusiastic...

 

I sauteed the spinach just until all the moisture released.

Then into the food processor along with some oregano and ricotta.

Rolling up the spinach ricotta filling in my mini pasta sheets.

Little cannelloni ready to go in the oven!

 

Topped with some tomato sauce and shredded parmesan, baked at 350 for about 25 minutes. Presto!

and of course a little salad.

Even if you’re settling for ingredients, a homemade dinner is worth the effort. And even Andrew ate all his spinach 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under dinners

3 responses to “phoney cannelloni

  1. I get so hungry when I visit your Blog!! Thank God there are no calories associated with just looking!

  2. With all of these wonderful ideas Lynette writes me, it sounds like you’re privileged to quite the home cook!! If only husbands expressed their enthusiasm so often… 😉

  3. Lynette

    Not ever having made homemade pasta, I love the ‘no boil’ lasagna pasta. I think it is the closest thing to homemade texture – maybe not taste – but definitely texture. Can’t wait to try yours – why don’t you come down here and be our chef!!!! The pay wouldn’t be much, but the company would be great and I am a really good sous chef! Can’t wait to hear about your NY cooking adventure this weekend.

Leave a Reply

